Browse
 

Html CSS Menu Css3Menu.com

Tools
Categories

Copying Family Files to a Different Folder or Drive

Author: Reference Number: AA-00440 Views: 15386 Created: 2013-11-12 10:32 AM Last Updated: 2013-11-12 10:38 AM 0 Rating/ Voters

1. In Legacy, open the file from the drive or folder where it currently is saved.
2. Click on File and select Save Family File As. When you click on File and select Save Family File As you save copy of your file in a different location or with a different name in the current location.
3. Click Yes to the message "Do you want to continue with copying to a new family file?"
4. In the "Enter a Name to Save the Family File as" screen, change the location at the top of the screen to the drive and folder where you want to save the file.
5. At the bottom of the screen enter a name for your family file. It can be the same name as it currently is, or you can give it a different name.
6. Click the Save button. Legacy will create an exact copy of your file, except it will be in the location where you want it.

Next, reset the place that you always want Legacy to open to for your family file. Click on Options on the menu bar, then selecting Customize and click the Locations tab. If you want to use the default Data folder, click the Reset button for the “Default Location of Family Files”. If you prefer a different location, like your Documents folder, click the Change button and select the path.

You shoud consider deleting the file from the old location so you don't get confused with which file you're using. Open that file in Legacy then go to File > Delete Family File to delete it.

You can select a preferred family file to open whenever Legacy is started.  Here are the steps:

1. Click on Options and select Customize.
2. In the Customize screen select the General tab.
3. Go to Starting Family File and select Always Open This File. 
4. To select or change the filename, click the Down button, find the preferred family file and select it.
5. Click Save in the lower left corner of the Customize screen to make the setting permanent.